The if necessary part doesn’t make me feel like that is the best way of doing things. Plus I wasn’t sure if everything in there is dynamically created. There are a lot of folders in there. Just completely empty the folder?
I have just deleted every thing in inside cache folder, and the site is working..
So yes delete whatever *inside* cache folder, if happen to delete cache folder it self, create it back and change permission to 777.
Clearing all the contents of the cache folder gave some errors on the site and a few things didn’t work but then I thought about your other part of the post. Uploading to the new server changed the folder permission of core/cache to 775. So changing that and everything in it to 777 let me back into manager and then clearing cache once again and flushing permissions got everything running great again. Thanks for your help.