Hello modXperts,
now that previewing changes requires the page to be saved first, it has become pointless as there is no way to undo these changes if needed. Isn’t that a bug? Remembering that earlier versions did behave as I expected: create and display a temporary instance of the page for the editor only. The public accessing the page just in that moment should not see me messing around.
The quick edit function does not provide a preview any more. :-(
kind regards,
agilero
-
MODX Staff
- 730 Posts
That’s an interesting point, Agilero,
I was just doing a pretty thorough click-test through the Manager and made a couple of notes about Preview myself.
Especially that Preview doesn’t even do anything from the Create New Resource (or Weblink) pages.
But yes, in it’s current form, Preview is a bit misleading if you’re making changes to an already-published page.
Calling it View, might be confusing because there’s a view permission and a view choice in the tree’s right-click menu that both refer to something else (showing basic info about the resource). To avoid confusion, it would probably have to be called something like "view in browser."