First, let me say how USEFUL was the advice to back up my Evolution 1.0.2 site before performing the update! It saved my bacon when an unreliable FTP client (to remain unnamed) I was trying for the first time crashed and did some bad things to my site on the production server.
Following another USEFUL piece of advice about five minutes into the screencast at
http://codingpad.maryspad.com/2009/09/20/how-to-update-a-website-from-modx-0-9-6-3-to-modx-1-0-0/,
I saved the Combined View of all Elements in 1.0.2. Comparing the saved Combined View to the 1.0.3 Combined View, I see that some older Element versions have been crossed out (deleted?) in favor of new versions. I also notice a few other things.
Turns out that my newbie-grade site doesn’t use any of the updated Elements, so there should be no impact. And sure enough, I note no functional difference in my site due to the update.
Question 1 -- How do I permanently expunge those crossed out / deleted old Elements? (I know how to do that in the Documents tree, but not for Elements.) Uniquely among the Element Views, Combined offers a "delete" link. Not knowing what that might do, I have not clicked it.
The other things mentioned above:
Question 2 -- A 1.0.2 Plug-in named "Show Image TVs" V1.0 seems to have been crossed out without replacement by a later version. Why? Has its function been subsumed somewhere else in MODx?
Question 3 -- A newly added template named "MODx Host Template" V1.0 is described as "Legacy MODx template ...." Confusing that something
new would be characterized as a
legacy item. Why is this template included in the update?
Question 4 -- Evolution 1.0.3’s "AjaxSearch" snippet is listed as V1.85. Evo 1.0.2’s "AjaxSearch" was V1.84. The pattern of crossing out / deleting the older version is not followed; V1.84 is not listed at all in the 1.0.3 Combined View. Why?
Thanks!