-
MODX Staff
- 730 Posts
Noticed this while studying the demo content, upgrading from 1.0.3 to 1.0.4.
The installer gives the option, under the heading Templates, to "Install/Update MODxHost - 1.0 Legacy MODx Host template including dropdown menu"
The thing is, whether you check this or not, the user has already uploaded all of the assets related to the new version of the template.
It seems like overkill to extend the legacy codebase so that Templates’ assets (files) are somehow looped into the upgrade process.
Can anyone think of a different way to approach this problem, or going back a step, what other kinds of real-world problems this could cause for users?
-
MODX Staff
- 730 Posts
doh, I just realized that the same argument exists for snippets, plugins and modules as well. If the user chooses to *not* upgrade one of those, they’re only making that choice about what goes into the database. Files in assets/* are already upgraded as soon as they upload/overwrite the MODx distro.
This doesn’t answer your question, but the problem makes the decision to leave all that stuff out of the install in Revolution look like a really god idea. In Revo, upgrades update nothing but the core.
Another good reason to convert sites to Revo.
-
☆ A M B ☆
- 24,524 Posts
Yes, with Evo you have to pay attention to what you upload to the assets folders.
Upgrade by install-over scares the heck out of me. Being a newbie and a natural paranoid, I avoided using the default MODx folders for my own CSS, images etc. in favor of new folders named my_CSS, my_images etc. I changed the names of any Extras I modified, whether or not they came along with the distribution. Seemed a good idea to explicitly reset CSS to baseline in my site’s pages as well.
These practices obviate several classes of surprise upgrade problems. Have any suggestions for other helpful defensive practices?
I looked just like that in 1964.
Quote from: halfnium at Jun 19, 2010, 01:46 AM
Upgrade by install-over scares the heck out of me. Being a newbie and a natural paranoid, I avoided using the default MODx folders for my own CSS, images etc. in favor of new folders named my_CSS, my_images etc. I changed the names of any Extras I modified, whether or not they came along with the distribution. Seemed a good idea to explicitly reset CSS to baseline in my site’s pages as well.
These practices obviate several classes of surprise upgrade problems. Have any suggestions for other helpful defensive practices?
You should be quite safe on an upgrade install -- as long as you don’t choose install the sample site. I’m sure you know that you’ll have to manually update the individual add-on components that you’ve modified.