We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 3 Posts
    I have been evaluating PHP-based CMS systems for several months and I have yet to find one that I feel is a good fit for our church web-site. The features I need are fairly straightforward. It seems like MODx has a very active and excited development community, which is good. Allow me to share the features that are most important to me and if MODx is (or soon will be) a good fit for our needs, let me know. If not, and you know of a CMS that is a better fit, I’d really appreciate knowing that, as well. For what its worth, I’m a web developer by trade (but a very busy one).

Here is my vision for the site:
    1. A front page that is fairly static, except for perhaps a "what’s new" block. I absolutely do not want a Slashdot/blog front-end that seems so popular these days.
    2. Ease of use for content editors. Most of the people who will be updating the content are somewhat intimidated by this and it should be easy (as in not frustrating) for them to control the content and the layout of an area or section that they are responsible for.
    3. Consistent look-and-feel. Far too many of the available CMS’s look like a hodge-podge.
    4. Fairly sophisticated control of access to content. This is a biggie. We want the ability to have sections of the site accessible only by the members of that group. Within that group area, we’d like to have discussion groups, photo albums, event calendars, polls, announcements, etc. You know-- sort of a community-within-a-community. There should be someone who can be designated as a manager of that group who can control who can be a member of the group and who can edit what content within the area the group controls. Users can be members of multiple groups and may have edit privileges in one group and only view privileges in another.