We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
  • I’m working on a site that’s based very heavily on user-entered data, and as I’m fairly new to Revo, I’m not sure of the best strategy for saving the user data.

Basically, users will sign up to become members of the site. Once they’re members, they’ll be able to create fairly extensive profiles with lots of statistical data about themselves. This info will be displayed on the user’s publicly accessible profile page. However, these stats will also need to be displayed on several "Top 500" pages. In other words, I need to be able to aggregate and rank data from all users.

My question is, with the Revo user system in mind, what’s the best way to structure this? Should I save all of this information to each user object? Or would it be better to save the user’s basic info, and then log the statistical info to separate tables (probably via formit2db) using the user ID as the foreign key? The latter seems easier for aggregation, but I want to make sure there’s not an easier way built into Revo.

Any suggestions would be appreciated!
    • I should also mention that I’m going to be running multiple top-level domains off one install, so contexts may play a big role here. For now, I don’t want to aggregate stats from other contexts, although I should plan for this possibility in the future. Again, separate tables seems like it would be the easiest way to achieve this (just create a column with the context name in the DB), but I’d like to hear what others think. Thanks!
      • Yeah, I’d dive into xPDO and start working with custom tables. Like you said, that’s easier to aggregate and collect.

This is probably a good start:
        http://rtfm.modx.com/display/revolution20/Using+Custom+Database+Tables+in+your+3rd+Party+Components

More info on the schemas & creating the models/classes:
        http://rtfm.modx.com/display/xPDO20/Defining+a+Schema