We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 3 Posts
    Hey guys,

I’ve found several tutorials on the web that were inadequate at explaining how to create a component. They were missing whole sections or were out of date. I’m not a newbie with PHP, I’ve been programming for over 5 years and have even built my Object Oriented framework.

Is there any "hello world" tutorial out there? If not, I’d be willing to write a comprehensive one if someone from the community was willing to help me out on this.
      • 4,149 Posts
      For Revo or Evo?
        shaun mccormick | bigcommerce mgr of software engineering, former modx co-architect | github | splittingred.com
        • 44 Posts
        For revo perhaps?

I’ve been pulling my hair out trying to put together a modx addon (a nifty portfolio addon that i’ve put together). For the life of me, it just seems so complex lol. everything is working fine on the front-end, I’m just having colossal trouble putting together the backend.

Any good tutorials on that? i mean really simple, barebone tutorials.
          • 24,544 Posts
          If you really want a "Hello World" tutorial . . .

Here’s a fairly sketchy one that should work for either Evo or Revo (all I have time for right now):

Create a document called "HelloWorld"

Add this text and snippet tag to the Content field of the HelloWorld document:

<p>Here's the output that replaces the snippet tag: [[HelloWorldSnippet]]</p>

Create a snippet called "HelloWorldSnippet" with the following code:

<?php
          $output = 'Hello World!';

return $output;
          ?>

Right-click on the HelloWorld document in the tree at the left and select "Preview." smiley
            Did I help you? Buy me a beer
            Get my Book: MODX:The Official Guide
            MODX info for everyone: http://bobsguides.com/modx.html
            My MODX Extras
            Bob's Guides is now hosted at A2 MODX Hosting