I have a question on the terminology used in Package Management.
When I right click on a package and I choose Remove Package, this command implies that the package will be removed from my list of packages, not so?
Instead when I go Remove Package, it simply uninstalls the most recent version of the package and leaves the previous version (even with Force Package Removal).
If I do the Remove Package a second time, with Force on, then it completely removes it from the listing.
Also, inside Uninstall, there is a Restore menu item.
To me, restoring a package is uninstalling the latest version and restoring the previous installed version but Restore doesnt do that.
Removing is totally removing it.
Comments?
I think remove can only remove one version at a time because it responds to whatever is in the grid, which is always the most recently installed version. It doesn’t know how many previous versions you might have or what they are. You should be able to remove them all one at a time, and since the other versions are not installed, the removal goes pretty quickly.
I generally remove the current package before upgrading so there’s never more than one to remove, though obviously that makes reverting to a previous version more complicated.