Quote from: dan_s8 at Oct 28, 2010, 07:26 AM
If a user could ’save’ a resource, preview it as it would look on the site, then ’publish’ it if they were happy with it, that would be awesome. I know it isn’t a big deal to then go back to the published resource and change it if needs be, but I think that extra bit of flexibility, where the user could review and edit before it goes fully live, would be really helpful - it would act as a buffer/safety net, in case they mess anything up.
That’s exactly how I expect a "Preview" button to work. What we have now is a "view live page" button, which, though not useless, is far less helpful than an actual preview.
I work with some high traffic sites. It’s just not acceptable in all cases to trial and error content on live pages. A preview is essential.
What I’ve done for now is created duplicate, unreferenced resources and I’m having my client edit the content on those, publish to them, and then copy the content over to the actual, live resources when they’re satisfied.
This adds an additional, and to my mind unnecessary and cumbersome step to the publishing process.