I just installed version 2.0.4 pl2. It’s my first Revolution installation after a lot of Evolution installations.
I have some issues and questions about the Revolution installation:
ht.access file vs .htaccess file
Why are all htaccess files named "ht.access" instead of ".htaccess".
In Evolution there was only one you had to rename that by hand. Now there are 3.
It is unclear what to do with them. Should they all be renamed?
core.transport.zip
Why is the Core directory also in a zip in the packages directory? It is 4.4 Mb and that takes extra upload-time to the Shared Server.
ext js
It seems like the ext Javascript library is included. But is that only for the modx manager?
If so, why also include the debug and debug-with-comments files? They take up another 4 Mb’s of uploading files.
Safe mode
The installation gives a blank screen when PHP is running in Safe Mode. This should be documented in the installation. Or, better, should be checked in the installation program at the start of the installation.
root writable
The installation says:
Make sure the directories "/[root]", "/core/packages","/core/cache", and "/core/export" are writable. (root will be the actual directory you are installing to.)
But it is not possible to make "/[root]" writable on shared hosts. The hosting provider won’t allow it. So, I did not change that.
Extra directories not included
During installation, at the "Thank You for installing" notice, there is a messagebox saying that three directories are not created, and should be there and should be writable.
- /assets/
- /assets/components/
- /code/components/
Why not include them in the installation package and instruct the used to make them writable before starting the installation?
Delete setup
That same screen says "Click this to DELETE the setup directory from the filesystem.".
I did click it, and expected to get an error message since my root folder is not writable.
I did not get an error message and the setup directory was NOT deleted. This is confusing.
The old way was better: Just instruct the user to delete the setup folder and check it upon login in the manager.
Hope I did not mention anything already covered in other posts. I did look, but could not find anything.
Thanks in advance for you help.
Regards,
Bert