The easiest way to do what you want is to add a custom permission in that field (if there’s already a permission there, add a comma and the new permission after it). Then give that custom permission to yourself and anyone else who should see the menu item (by adding it to the appropriate policy). For everyone else, the menu item won’t show.
The new custom permission can be called anything you like.
Hi There, I just added a custom permission to some menu items and the items now successfully hide from the menu.
But now I want to assign this new custom permission to my access policy so I can still see the menu items but where to add the new custom permission?? I don’t see it show up in the permissions list when I want to add a new one. I don’t see an option to add a custom one..
Can somebody tell me where I can add the new permission?
Ok I figured it out... It was not easy to find out that next to the standard list of permissions you can type in the actual field and create a custom permission when you save that field.
Maybe make it more easy to work with by having the "standard permissions" in a drop down list and a "Add new permission" button on the permissions page.
I noticed that flushing the permissions and cache is not enough to have menu items appear or file trees hide.
Most of the time a user has to log out and in again into the backend to actually see the changes. With other words, they need to start a new user session.
It would be great to mention this as a standard message to Administrators.
Next to that, it would be great if the permissions would flush automatically after working with them.
Quote from: onepack at Oct 18, 2010, 05:51 AM
I noticed that flushing the permissions and cache is not enough to have menu items appear or file trees hide.
Most of the time a user has to log out and in again into the backend to actually see the changes. With other words, they need to start a new user session.
It would be great to mention this as a standard message to Administrators.
Next to that, it would be great if the permissions would flush automatically after working with them.
Security -> "Flush all Sessions" (though it does log you, and everyone else, out).