We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 32 Posts
    A little context: I’m a long time developer, well versed in MVC, etc, and have used 3 other popular frameworks in the past on large projects (CakePHP, Zend, and Symfony)...

Now I’m building a personal site which will need to pull almost all of its document content via AJAX. For example, most of the content will load into jQuery tabs. I’d like to use Modx on this site as a way to get more familiar with it, to potentially add it to my arsenal of tools - but I’m having trouble getting my head fully around some of the concepts. Also, I’m starting my Modx journey using Revolution beta3.

In particular, I’ve had trouble finding working examples or documentation to guide me in how it is intended that my app be structured, both in terms of directory layout and file(s) contents - the Modx way.

Also, I know that using snippets is the recommended way to inject PHP into an app - and I can appreciate the power of snippets, but the idea of having code floating around not under version control (and not easily centrally maintained directly in my IDE) hurts my brain (and my workflow). So, I prefer to have all of my PHP code in external files, and my content managed by Modx.

If anyone can provide some guidance (commentary, links, etc) I would be very appreciative. Also, if wanting to use external files exclusively for code defeats the purpose of using Modx in the first place, then I’d also appreciate it if someone would tell me if I’m just barking up the wrong tree.

A tiny example of clicking a link to load a Modx document into a div would go a long way for me right now. Throw in some jquery to make it really fit my situation, and I will bow down in gratitude.

Thanks.
      • 2,877 Posts
      One snippet to run them all (extra benefit: way smaller cache file - siteCache.idx.php!)