It is set up this way:
- the manager will stay disabled until the end of update process or not more than 5 minutes (can be changed)
- if updating goes wrogn, next update will "refresh" the manager lock and will enable manager access as soon as it finishes updating
- your question was the reason why I’ve set a file as a "site is updating" indicator, so the user can access it and delete it via ftp, thus restore the manager access instantly
The other option is, as I’ve listed before, to wait not more than 5 minutes and the lock is deleted.
The installation sets a file in ’assets/cache/’ folder, which contains the timestamp of the install procedure. If the installation goes ok, this file is removed at the end of the process.
When trying to login to manager, I check for that file and inform the user (and prevent the login) if the install process is still going on.
If the timestamp in the file is older than 5 minutes, I ignore this file and delete it.
It’s the same if the session already exists: for every action I check for that file and if it has "valid" timestamp, I exit the manager and kill the session.