We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 109 Posts
    [Re-post - I put the original post in the wrong spot :shock: ]
    Hi,

I'm a front-end designer (no-PHP) - and have done template work/development with Mambo, CMSimple, SOHO Launch, MySource, and Etomite.

I am developing a business relationship with a talented C++ coder (coming up to speed with PHP). We are looking to go much further than integration, and develop a business model around a small business CMS: templates/integration/support/training.

I'm trying to get an understanding if it would make sense for us to get involved closely with this project.

How will it work in practice?
    As a business person (and non-programmer) I have a few questions:
    1. Who is on the core team so far?
    2. Is it practical to have non-programmers [with good CMS integration experience] have a serious say in the project direction? Will there be steering committee?
    3. I have a list of items that I feel should be in the core distribution (although parts of it may be modules) - which I'll set out below. Any feedback on whether the founding team agree would be appreciated.
    4. Will the project focus on being framework for business websites? [Are we steering clear of the being another community portal...?]

Where's the money?
    I think one of the things that the contributors need to work out is how they are going to make a living out of this. For the team that have put so much work into modX I'm figuring that it works closely with their vision of how they can service their clients best. Will there be other ways the founders will make money from this? eg commercial modules.

For those coming on board now - we need to be clear that the "vision" works for us, and will be flexible enought to address our issues. Also I'd like to get some feedback from the founders and the community so far on whether they will discourage/encourage or feel neutral about: