We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 81 Posts
    Hi everyone,
    I have changed domain names and relaunched my photography website.

It’s at www.robpackerphotography.com

In the process there have been a few tweaks, some things that didn’t work are fixed. I admit my skills are probably heavily weighted more towards the photography than the web design/coding, but Modx Revo is easy to work with once you get your mind around the basics.

The site has big images & works best in FF. Haven’t been able to work out to successfully scale for smaller monitors, so suggestions would be appreciated there.

Comments & constructive critiques welcome - I’m still learning.

Thanks

Rob
      • 368 Posts
      After a quick look, I really like your photos and perspective smiley The website is nice too, but I do have a couple of suggestions.

First, I would get some kind of logo for the topbanner - just your name set in nice curly font would do, if necessary. It may be just me, but having the site’s title set in the same font as the headings always makes me think of a canned template.

I don’t know if anyone else feels this way, but reading small white text on a dark background makes me see stripes for the next few minutes. I feel so strongly about this that I will use Firebug to change the background and text color if the page is something I really need to read. This alone would be enough to prevent me from becoming a regular reader of your blog. You wouldn’t necessarily have to change your whole look and feel, but I would consider at least lightening up the background and darkening the text on your blog pages.

Also, when I click on "blog" and see a list of links to posts instead of summary texts, I’m scratching my head for a moment. If you’re using getResources for the blog, as I assume you are, changing these preview to use introtext would be very easy.