We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 372 Posts
      Hi from New Zealand smiley

I have been trying out various free, standards compliant, Open Source CMS to help someone develop a website for a rescue services training institute although I am new to CMS’s

I had installed and trialled E107, Etomite, Drupal, Mambo, Netdoc, Webgui, Egroupware (with sitemgr), Plone and Typo3 and now I have found MODx TP3 which is my final choice.

Heres what I am hoping to accomplish with it

The site will have both public and secure sections which I can brand (template / skin) so that all sections look part of the same site.
      [EDIT: Website branded, just not backend]

Public:

[list]
    • FAQs
    [EDIT: Done, used NeatFAQ, but had issues with the first FAQ not displaying correctly. Chnaged idea to use page anchors instead, more accessible as well]

• Downloadable documents (PDF’s which can be indexed and returns matches when site searched)
    [EDIT: Downloadable documnets, justneed to make them searchable now.

• Static info like organisation details etc
    [EDIT: Done]

• News (with front page teaser that automatically display the last X amount of articles like Typo3 does) News will also have images and files placed where the editor wants in the article.
    [EDIT: Done, chose not to use front page teaser, but could do it with NewsListing]

• A Gallery with slide show. User can have pictures displayed based on categories and can choose multiple categories at the same time.
    [EDIT: Using EPG2, but does not yet have search or catagories

• Calendar which users can search, list or browse events in the calender. They need to be able to search or list events based on categories, and again can select multiple categories

Also want the calender to have different colours based on the categories so it is clear to see what type of event or course it is when viewing monthly or weekly etc.

Secure section: