We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 98 Posts
    Since my background is programming / math / science / English prose rather than visual design / markup / typography, MODx "feels" quite natural. So far, MODx is working flawlessly for me. The default-installed and contributed snippets are a wonderful resource, and the Manager is capable beyond my expectations.

However, errors of English grammar, syntax, spelling and punctuation in the documentation undermine the impression of quality. Too frequently do I find myself in that zone of happy MODx contemplation and learning, only to be jarred out of it by a pretzel paragraph, some homonymic horror, plurality confused with possession, a post-fixed preposition, etc.

I am glad to report problems I encounter if that would be useful, but whither and how?
      I looked just like that in 1964.
      • 68 Posts
      I remember reading somewhere that the best way would be to blog your ’better-english’ version of the documentation and/or post it on the forum. I find that the Modx developers closely follow the forum posts and would grab and use any good work. This seems like an unstructured system and maybe somewhere else you would find a documentation group with volunteers registering to work. But having watched how such efforts have failed in the case of other opensource development efforts, this perhaps is a practical approach.

Nice of you to offer doing this. Modx particularly the upcoming Revolution documentation could do with a lot of improvement particularly for newbies like you and I to understand the new version.
        • 928 Posts