We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 2 Posts
    Hi. I’m new to this, so I hope this hasn’t been covered already.

I ran into a problem when I first installed the system the other day. The install scripts are coded with PHP ’@’ operators on the mysql API calls, so there is no error reporting. But, when using MySQL 4.1 there is a problem with passwords unless the OLD_PASSWORD feature is enabled in MySQL. Because the errors are not reported, this becomes very hard to diagnose. What results is simply a message that MODx cannot connect to the database. It would be helpful if there was a reminder to this effect in the install documentation. It might also help if the MySQL errors were allowed to show. The way I found this and corrected it was to edit the PHP install script, remove the ’@’ operators, and finally see the error messages. The result of the error was a ’Client does not support authentication protocol’ error ... which then gets fixed with the OLD_PASSWORD feature.
      • 54 Posts
      I go with this in other areas as well about the lack of error reporting, and I’ve ended hacking code in other areas to get it to report exactly why it is failing.

Modx is a wicked app, but I find if things go wrong, they just tend to die with no errors.

A lot of this is down to snippet authers as much as the core app itself as if the snippet dies with no error Modx can’t do much about it, and modx very much has a philosophy of providing the framework that you can bolt things onto it seems (which is why it is good in many ways).

Also, error messages often contain information that could be useful to a hacker, and so on production sites it is generally better to die quietly than display loads of infomation. (Obviously on the install script this isn’t so relevant).