We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 2 Posts
    I am using the standard snippets to sign up a user and and webblogin snippet but both dont work. I called them how the instructions stated for me to call them and they show up but when a create a test user nothing happens.

is there something else i have to modify.

I am very new to this content management system and any help is gratly appreciaed

• Did you call them uncached?
        Ryan Thrash, MODX Co-Founder
        Follow me on Twitter at @rthrash or catch my occasional unofficial thoughts at thrash.me
        • 2 Posts
        i went in and under page settings i unchecked the box that states cacheable
          • 98 Posts
          Durangio, I think Ryan meant the snippet call itself, not if the page was cached or uncached. To better understand, go here http://modxcms.com/adding-snippets.html in the documentation and page down to "Configuring Snippet Tags."

Excerpt: "Snippet tags can take two forms, [[SnippetName]] or [!SnippetName!].
          The first form is a normal snippet call; if the page is cached, the snippet’s output will also be cached. Usually this will not be a problem. Sometimes, however, it is important that the snippet’s output not be cached. For example, the Login snippet needs to determine if the user has logged in, and if not, display the login form, and if so, display the logout link. If the page is cached, the snippet is not run, and the display would not change."
            • 4,213 Posts
            Read partial document caching documentation page to understand how the caching works.

"He can have a lollipop any time he wants to. That's what it means to be a programmer."
              • 126 Posts
              Quote from: doze at Oct 25, 2006, 09:28 PM

Read partial document caching documentation page to understand how the caching works.