We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 8 Posts
    Hi, I’m new to Modx and was wondering if there is documentation on the the Modx specific CSS tags that are used? I’ve looked through and searched the forums but haven’t found anything quite yet. Thanks!
    • There are no MODx specific CSS tags. What you put in is what you get out.
        Ryan Thrash, MODX Co-Founder
        Follow me on Twitter at @rthrash or catch my occasional unofficial thoughts at thrash.me
        • 1,131 Posts
        Yeah, the only real CSS specific stuff is in some of the output for the various snippets and such. Even then, alot of it can be overridden with certain parameters and/or chunks. For instance, with the DropMenu snippet you can give it values for the menuName and topnavClass parameters respectively for setting the ID and classname respectively. Other snippets have their own way of doing this. Sometimes you can override a CSS ID or class via a parameter; sometimes you have to use a chunk as a template and assign the ID and/or class for each element in it; but some don’t have any overrides and you simply have to place it in a test document and view the code to see what the default ID’s and classes are. Most snippet and module writers are now allowing for assigning custom ID’s and classes though.

However, I will say this though...there are a few instances where MODx will output a class or ID for an element. The only real place this happens is for Template Variables. For instance, if you create a template variable that uses a RichText widget and place it on a page then the resulting output would have a DIV with a class of MODX_RichTextWidget. So, yeah, there are a few places that have MODx specific CSS classes and such...but only in the output of template variables for now. And, yeah, we probably need to add this to the documentation. wink
          Jeff Whitfield