We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 463 Posts
    I’m a newbie but having great success with Modx.

I’ve done a test site replicating a site I’ve already done and now I want to replace the site I’ve already done, with my ultra-flexible Modx version.

I’m stuck on the database issue. My host seems to be telling me that I can’t download my test database and use it for the ’real’ site but I can export the information and then import it to a new database which I must pre-create in the ’real’ hosting space.

So I have two questions - How do I transfer the database info? How do I connect the moved Modx site to the new database to obtain the same results as I had on the test site?

Forgive me if I’ve posted in the wrong place but this seemed to be the most apt.
      Web site design in Nottingham UK by Chris Fickling http://www.chrisficklingdesign.co.uk
      • 4,213 Posts
      As your host said, first export the database from your local environment and then create a new database to your host db and import the exported content there. You can do this easily with phpmyadmin for example if your host has that installed. Then just ftp modx files over to the server and edit the database settings in config.inc.php. For more detailed howto, see http://wiki.modxcms.com/index.php/Moving_Site_To_Another_Location

"He can have a lollipop any time he wants to. That's what it means to be a programmer."
        • 1,611 Posts
        First you’ll want to make a backup of your existing database, which you can do using the MODx Manager’s Backup feature or a separate tool like phpMyAdmin (make sure that you check the box to preserve autoincrement values).