We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 113 Posts
    So Ive been using MODX for several years (since .94 I think) and I use it exclusively for all of my interactive projects. Im recently in the middle of a project for a small client (book author) who wanted something pretty basic built in wordpress. I’ve had some exposure to wordpress (and a lot of exposure to CMS development in general) so I though no big deal. Ill just buy a template and adjust as necessary. 7 hours (hes a friend).

I subsequently found a template on Themeforest, installed it thought Id make a couple of tweaks and we’d be good to go. Man, was I wrong. way wrong. So wrong in fact its comical. Making simple changes to a template required me to dust of my PHP manual (what I thuoght this was supposed to be easy) to figure out the logic behind how all of the parts fit together. It would probably be better if I wanted to make no changes to the look, but a simple header replacement was ridiculous. I have to add all this proprietary code garbage, code syntax makes zero sense whatsoever, templates, referencing includes, referencing plug-ins, and all of that is for a pretty basic front end template. and at this rate this project will cost me more than it brings in but I shoulda known. I understand that it may not be entirely wordpress’ fault and more the coding skill of the template developer, but jeez, there is zero continuity throughout the workflow and how templating works in that framework.