We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 13 Posts
    Hi,

I am new to MODx and really like the system’s simplicity and flexibility. And I am trying to convert a site on a home-grown system which has a similar approach to MODx but lack the coherence and completeness of MODx. I have gone through sevearl tutorials and have one question about the document(resource) tree:

The site will have continuously news items fed in every day. As I understand it, all those new items will appear under a parent resource, which will quickly accumulate to into thousands and become a management nightmare. In the home grown system, special pages are written to filter out list of items, but in the MODx back, there seems to be only one way to present the collection of the documents, that is by the tree.

Am I understanding MODx correctly: does each news item need to be a child resource item? are there better ways of organising MODx?

Thanks much for any pointers!

Alan

• Well that is a method of managing content. If you feel like some programming you could code up something to store the posts in your own table and then have different pages to interface with that table. At least that’s what I would do if I had a large volume of updates and didn’t want a ton of pages. (and if I had programming skills outside of HTML/CSS)
        Patrick | Server Wrangler
        About Me: Website | TweetsMODX Hosting
        • 13 Posts
        Thanks for the reply. I suppose with Modx’s flexibility I should be able to just use the home grown content management page in addition to the MODx core system (haven’t figured out how to ’hack’ the /manager system yet but pretty sure it’s doable). I just wanted to check first to see if that’s not re-inventing the wheel lest MODx has other alternative of managing the content.