We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 40 Posts
    Hey,

I’m totally new to modx. I installed modx successfully, but when I try to login it gives me ’incorrect username or password’. Of course the password is correct. When I request a new one using the forgot password feature, the link in the email send to me also gives me ’incorrect username or password’.

I tried searching for an answer since it would seem to me I am not the only one with this problem, however I was unable to find anything. Sorry if this has been answered before.

thanks

PHP4 - Windows 2000 server - IIS6 - latest modx version - mysql
    • This happened to me once on a new install I’m not sure if something went wrong during install, have you tried dropping the mysql table and reinstalling MODx again as it worked for me?

Thanks
      Aaron
        http://www.onesmarthost.co.uk
        UK MODX Hosting with love.
        • 40 Posts
        yep multiple times. I remember that nothing at all went wrong during installation, it striked me at the time because that doesnt happen too often to me.
          • 40 Posts
          I got new data: it only happens in firefox, there is no problem in internet explorer.

- I’m using FF 2.0.0.4
          - cookies are enabled, although no cookies are set (it might be too early for that though).
          - i have no problems accessing the demo installation at http://www.opensourcecms.com/

Still no clue what’s going on.
          • Are you able to log into the mysql database using something like phpmyadmin?

Looking back at your original post are you getting a dialog box popup prompting for a user name and password? If thats the case it could be a folder NTFS security permissions problem.

Aaron.
              • 40 Posts
              yes, no problems with the database. shouldn’t that have become obvious during installation? Anyway, phpmyadmin works perfect.