We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 120 Posts
    I have been using hostcolor for approx 3 months. I have nothing but good things to say about them. They have been good at hosting my modx sites and their 15 minute response to issues are great. There are certain people who you do not want to deal with but that is the case with anyone.

The important thing is not to stop questioning. Curiosity has its own reason for existing. One cannot help but be in awe when he contemplates the mysteries of eternity, of life, of the marvelous structure of reality. It is enough if one tries merely to comprehend a little of this mystery every day. Never lose a holy curiosity.

-Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

Apache/2.2.11 (Unix) mod_ssl/2.2.11 OpenSSL/0.9.8e-fips-rhel5 DAV/2 mod_auth_passthrough/2.1 mod_bwlimited/1.4 FrontPage/5.0.2.2635
      • 1,624 Posts
      I personally do not like them.

They offer VPS solutions with no ssh support. You cannot even use sftp or I could not find the config for it.
      The way they name the databases is very "funny"
      Somehow my database got corrupted at download(not sure why but I lost my data)
      The modx version they have is very old.
      My evo install did not work the first time. The landing page for the manager was blank. This a real issue. I installed 2 times. Same behaviour
      You cannot unzip a file using their "weeble file manager" so you have to wait 1 hr to upload an unziped version of modx.

Not sure what to think anymore.
        • 9 Posts
        Hi,
        I am a Host Color representative and wanted to just take part of this discussion regarding our services. Can you please tell me what do you mean by "They offer VPS solutions with no ssh support. You cannot even use sftp or I could not find the config for it."