Hi,
I am on my second site upgrade. The first site upgrade to 1.0.1 went without a hitch.
The second site upgrade has exploded in my face. I backed up the whole site and I backed up the database. I went through the upgrade procedure and changed some of the permissions like I was asked to by the installer and everything looked good. But my site is gone and in its place is the default site. All my pages and templates, and users are gone! I made sure not to check the install sample site though.
How do I get my site back? I did the install process twice with the same result. I hacve a few other sites to upgrade but I am scared to do so now until I learn howI can recover all the pages and templates etc.
Thanks!
OK sounds like you installed the default test site while doing the upgrade.
If you have a full backup then thats great, log into phpmy admin and drop all the tables in the database, then import your old database from the backup, then rerun the installer again but don’t install the test site
Thanks.
OK I am into the database area. I have not done this before. How do I drop all the tables import the old stuff from the database backup I made?
Edit: I think I got it. Will report back...
Once you see the tables in the database select drop from the dropdown and then click go, then select the import tab and browse to the database backup you took and select it, then click go and it will import all the tables back into the database with all the content.
Thanks Paul,
It took me a second to locate the "drop" option. I did this and then ran the installer again after adding my archived config.inc.php file. And all seems fine again!
Wow! I thought I had many hours of work and frustration ahead of me.
Thanks very much!
I think I know how I missed it: I had to change some of the permissions via my FTP client. So I was going back and forwards on the install page all the time. One of these critical times that box must have been checked somehow. I could have sworn I did not check it though...
Good lesson nonetheless...
If the install runs into errors such as not finding directories, or them not being writable, when you go back to the install page it automatically checks the install demo site box, even if you had it unchecked before.
Quote from: shorner at Oct 27, 2009, 08:14 PM
If the install runs into errors such as not finding directories, or them not being writable, when you go back to the install page it automatically checks the install demo site box, even if you had it unchecked before.
Good catch.

Would you file that as a major improvement via the Jira link at the top of this page?