Hi there,
I love MODx and have installed it for many clients. I have just downloaded the newest version and have installed the files for a client who I’m migrating from an old Expanse CMS. When I begin the installation process and I’m choosing the "Installation Mode," under the "New installation" option it says "Please note this option may overwrite any data inside your database."
However, the old Expanse system which has the live site on it is already using a database and I’ll be using the same database user to install MODx. I’m pretty sure this is no problem, but I wanted to ask if I can be sure the existing Expanse database will not be overwritten or deleted.
Thanks,
Bill
As long as the MODx database has a different name than the Expanse DB, you should be fine.
Wonderful, that’s what I expected. Thanks very much for your help!
Bill
-
☆ A M B ☆
- 24,524 Posts
Even if it uses the same database, the modx_ (or whatever table prefix you specify) the installation will only create tables with names like modx_web_users, or modx_site_content, exactly for the reasons you are concerned about. What the installation warning is about is if you have an existing MODx installation (or any other tables of the same name with the same prefix - highly unlikely! ) the installation may overwrite those existing tables.