I don’t understand the Save Documents option in the role management. If I create a user withou the save option checked but with the create, edit and publish options set will these not works since they need to save the document in order to create edit or publish? How to use the save document role option?
-
☆ A M B ☆
- 24,524 Posts
The "edit" role is a bit misleading; it doesn’t actually allow full editing. A user with that role can view the document, and since text editing is done in the client he can edit to his heart’s content, but he cannot save it. So the "save" role permission is the crucial one.
On my sottwell.com site I use this distinction to allow guest users to log in to my manager and view almost everything, but they cannot change anything.
So the publish, edit and create will only really work if the save is selected? If I want a user to only publish documents they need the publish and the save rights? Or do the publish and create override the save rights which would mean that the save only really has an affect on the edit role?