We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 12 Posts
    I have a xPDO/PHP-Class or may a logical problem.

I have a master Class "Event" that has a function that will add dates to a date table. Very simplified it looks like that:
    class Event extends xPDOSimpleObject {
        public function addDate {
            $date = $this->modx->newObject('eventDate');
            $date->set('title', $title);
            $date->save();
        }
    }

This works perfect and the addDate function adds the date to the table. Now i would like to move this function inside the eventDate Class. But this does not work anymore. Simplified it looks like that:
    class eventDate extends xPDOSimpleObject {
        public function addDate {
            $this->set('title', $title);
            $this->save();
        }
    }

I thought i could just add new dates like this. But this does not work. Is there a good example how to communicate via xPDO with the DB inside the Class/Object itself?

This question has been answered by multiple community members. See the first response.

• 24,544 Posts
      If $this is an actual, instantiated object before calling the method, it should work. Otherwise, xPDO doesn't have an object to save to the DB. You either need to call newObject() or retrieve the object you want to update from the DB first.

Did I help you? Buy me a beer
        Get my Book: MODX:The Official Guide
        MODX info for everyone: http://bobsguides.com/modx.html
        My MODX Extras
        Bob's Guides is now hosted at A2 MODX Hosting
      • I think you oversimplified the code you shared, as that's not valid syntax and will cause a fatal error. I'm also finding it a bit hard to understand the intent here.

The code you shared, once de-simplified and made valid again, would work like this:

$eventDate = $modx->newObject('eventDate');