We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 3 Posts
    Hi,

I am a newbie to modx and now working on the conversion of a website. On the website there is also a section jobs and I want to define this as a TV (using Migx) attached to a template. However, this template is used by more pages but I only want to define it once. Not for every page it is attached to as a result of being a TV. Consider it as a global variable for the site, but not for every page. How to achieve this?

Kind Regards, Louis

config: nginx, php7.0 revo 2.5.6

This question has been answered by multiple community members. See the first response.

• discuss.answer
      • 1,154 Posts
      I am not positive but I just added a resource with an existing MIGX tv template, and it gave me an empty field, and I don't believe anything will show if you don't put anything in there.

I did not realize that you could deploy the same tv on multiple resources, but it seems unwise to me anyway.
      • discuss.answer
        If you do not want to use a different template for jobs then you could use output modifiers to hide empty results on the front end but the variable will still show up in the manager.

[[*mymigxtv:notempty=`[[!getImageList]]`]]
        • discuss.answer
          • 24,544 Posts
          As you say, TVs are for page-specific data. For site-wide data, create a new System Setting in System (gear icon) -> System Settings.

You can display your setting on a page, or use it as the value of a snippet property with a setting tag:

[[++setting_name]]
            Did I help you? Buy me a beer
            Get my Book: MODX:The Official Guide
            MODX info for everyone: http://bobsguides.com/modx.html
            My MODX Extras
            Bob's Guides is now hosted at A2 MODX Hosting
            • 3 Posts
            Hi,