We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 15 Posts
    Hello Folks,

I'm a seasoned IT / Sysadmin with years of experience. Lots of tasks done over the years in Windows and Linux systems. Including a wide variety of PHP skills.

I setup a new MODX 2.6.5 the other day -- NO ISSUES. Manager section and front end worked fine.
    I then found the security note about moving CORE from outside the web root.

Moved CORE up level higher and change the paths in the config files.
    Wouldn't work...

I deleted the DB and all files.
    I did the CORE move first before my second install. No ERRORS during the install, but nothing works.

I will say that I have heard a lot of good things about MODX.
    I wish the setup/directions were better written. The directions jump around a lot and don't follow a logic flow. Also the section that says what directories need to be writable... by PHP... What does that mean?

Now back to my moving CORE issue.
    my document root is /var/www/sites/blah.com/html
    my core is /var/www/sites/blah.com/core

I have changed the CORE path in the config files to: ../core/ and /var/www/sites/blah.com/core/
    Both dont work...

if you look at the apache logs:
    include_once(/var/www/sites/blah.com/html../core/model/modx/modx.class.php

It is appending it to the document root path...
    please advise.

This question has been answered by BobRay. See the first response.

• 932 Posts
      There should a forward slash after the core so it reads:

if (!defined('MODX_CORE_PATH')) {
          $modx_core_path= '/var/www/sites/blah.com/core/';
          define('MODX_CORE_PATH', $modx_core_path);
      }

Also I believe the core security issue you first get when installing and logging in can be resolved just by renaming the htaccess file in that folder. Though moving this outside of the public folder is also a great idea smiley