We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 4 Posts
    Hi all,

Hope somebody can help - I'll try and keep this as clear as possible but I'm pretty new to modX and a designer by trade!

I took over running a modx site for a business that an existing client bought and updating was going fine for the last few months (new products, news ect...)

In the background the site has moved servers and is now up and running on the new server.

Problem I have is that the backup that the old IT guys gave to the new people was four months old. So when the server switched over I've lost 4 months of work and updates.

Thought this wouldn't be a problem as I'd downloaded the site from my FTP access. I then added to the new server via FTP and changed all the nessesary config files - was very happy as worked perfectly and the site is back to where it should be...

But! - Had a few issues with the manager so thought would clear the cache - as soon as I did this the site reverted back to the old version...

Tried a few times but the same thing happens - I'm assuming this is something to do with the database? Is there anything that can be done?

Thank you...
      • 24,544 Posts
      It's an excellent mystery!

I'm not doubting your story, but I'm having trouble coming up with a scenario that explains your symptoms. Clearing the cache should give you a newer version, not an older one. In other words, say the site is working with the new stuff. If there are no cache files, clearing the cache will have no effect. If there *are* cache files, the the new stuff must already be in the cache (since you're seeing it). If MODX was set to deliver the old stuff (visible once you clear the cache), how did the new stuff get in the cache in the first place?