We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 322 Posts
    Hi all. I've been using SkyToaster for quite a few years now, and the recommendation of others in the MODX community. Originally, it was fantastic — stellar uptime, great tech support when needed, fast servers. I noticed a decline in the quality of tech support a year or so ago, and then learned that one of the original founders, Patrick, had left to go to a different company. Patrick was a dedicated MODX developer. The remaining original owner, Sal Sodano, replied to some queries I had about the change in tech support and confirmed that they started outsourcing some of their support, although he said he monitored tech support and stepped in when necessary, which I saw happening. In the past two months, the server I'm on, and on which I've put many of my clients, (FL01) has seen 6 different periods of sites being offline due to various problems (including a DDOS attack). Tech support continues to not respond knowledgably, at least until a ticket gets bumped up to level 2 or 3 of support. I sent another email to Sal, only to learn that he sold the company at the end of last year and is no longer involved in daily operations. Sozo Technologies is now in possession of the company. I got a nice response from them, but one thing they suggested was turning on database throttling to avoid some of the instances of the server database going down, which has happened three times in the past 6 weeks (followed by client emails asking why their sites are down). However, one reason I moved to Skytoaster is because other hosts using Cloud Linux had database throttling turned on and all my MODX sites suffered frequent sluggishness as a result. Those same sites, once put on Skytoaster, had no issues at all.