We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 18 Posts
    Hey guys, I know this is going to sound really bad, but I am new to Modx and still trying to figure out what is going on with this site I'm managing. First off, we had a web dev just leave out of the blue so I'm left behind picking up where he left off.

Here's my issue: I have a username and password to be able to login into the Modx Manager, but this user doesn't give me privileges to change certain content of the website so I need the admin info. I cannot find it anywhere, I even tried updating it in phpmyadmin but no changes are made.

In my phpmyadmin, there are two databases that I tested this for, also in Cpanel, when I remove all of the files in public_html just to see if something will change on the website... nothing happens. (AHHH!) I am very confused and frustrated because we are hosting this website, but I guess I must be missing the database somewhere??

Any info helps! Thanks.

This question has been answered by BobRay. See the first response.

• discuss.answer
      • 24,544 Posts
      1. If there is a core/ directory at the MODX root, skip the next step and just go there.

2. Look in the root of the site at the config.core.php file. The first path there will be the path to the MODX core directory.

3. Look in that core directory at the config.inc.php file to see the name of the database MODX is using.

4. Go into that Database in PhpMyAdmin, and in the modx_users table, find your user's record and set the 'sudo' field to 1 -- that should let you do anything in the Manager.

For security, you probably don't want to leave yourself as a sudo user forever. Adding yourself to the Administrator user group may give you full rights. If you're already a member of the Administrator group, change your role in the group to 'Admin Super User'.

Welcome to MODX. smiley
        Did I help you? Buy me a beer