We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 4 Posts
    I'm using Revo 2.2 and this is my first project.

I've done some searching through both the Extras library and this forum but haven't found an answer for this. If I've missed an answer in my search, please just point me to it to save effort.

What I'm building is an eBook library. So I will have multiple files for each title in different formats (PDF, ePub, mobi, etc), and I want to store these files in a database table rather than in the file system.

Is there a plugin/addin/technique that would simplify doing this?

Thanks,
    Stephen Silk
    [ed. note: sasilk last edited this post 7 years, 3 months ago.]
      • 24,544 Posts
      I can't think of any extra that would do that for you.

I think it would make your life a whole lot easier if you left them as files and saved just the information about them in the DB (title, author(s), path/to/file, number or pages, pub date, etc.). It's easy enough to give them all the same name except for the extension. That way you can easily deliver any of them as long as you know the title and extension. If you're worried about security, you can store the files above the web root so no one can access them except through the service you provide.

How you store the information about each eBook depends on how your users will access them. If they'll just be browsing, you could use a resource for each book and Template Variables (TVs) for the information that doesn't fit in the resource fields.