We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 140 Posts
    Hi All,

I'm working on a challenging project involving members and video's. The basic idea is that there are free video's and paid videos. For the paid video you need to have a "membership" to view. My question to you guys is: what's the best way to validate the membership and show the video and store membership expiration date?

The challenges

1. Members can signup and login
    2. Members can make a payment
    3. Members can view paid videos

The idea

1. Login extra for handling all the member stuff
    2. I'd have to work with iDeal(Dutch) so I thought of Mollie API?
    3. Once the payment is successful I store the expiration date of the membership in an extended field on the member. For the video I use a snippet which checks if the user has a valid membership or not.

I'm a enthusiastic developer willing to learn a lot so please don't be shy! Thanks in advance for your help community.

Best,
    Ilja

This question has been answered by BobRay. See the first response.

• 932 Posts
      I believe there's an extra available called SubscribeMe that has the paid membership facility within it.
        ■ email: [email protected] | ■ website: https://alienbuild.uk

The greatest compliment you can give back to us, is to spend a few seconds leaving a rating at our trustpilot: https://uk.trustpilot.com/review/alienbuild.uk about the service we provided. We always drop mention of services offered by businesses we've worked with in the past to those of interest.
        • 140 Posts
        Hi LK,

Thanks for the fast reply. The extra is great, thing is: it has only a PayPall gateway. I need to work with iDeal.
        • discuss.answer
          • 24,544 Posts
          You might consider using the User Profile's DOB (date of birth) field for the expiration date if you're not already using it. It would be faster and easier than an extended field.