We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 11 Posts
    Hi,

As an administrator I want to login (frontend) as one of the registered users.
    For example with the username and a global or admin password.
    Is this in one way or another possible?

Modx Rev.

gr
    Maxjo
      • 1,154 Posts
      In my experience backend and front end are totally separate, so yes you can. The admin is backend only because you haven't (usually) put that account into the user group (frontend) you made/will make.

So if you want your admin account to be front end as well as backend, just add it to the front end user group. With my forum, I have to login twice which is a bit of a pain, even logged in on the backend I will still need to login on the front end.

And if you just want to login to the front end as a regular user, still while logged in as admin on the backend, that should be fine too.

Hope that's clear, let us know if you find some problem.
        • 11 Posts
        Thanks for your answer. But I was not clear enough, sorry.

Say, there are 10 users registered: I would like to login with there username combined with one global password wich will work for all the registered user accounts in the system.

This is for testing and checking some user-related data as if that user was logged in (frontend).

gr Max
          • 24,544 Posts
          There's no way to do that without knowing their passwords (short of hacking the Login code or the MODX core code).

You can create extra users with the same rights as your users and log in as them, though. Be sure you're not logged into the Manager at the same time (even in another browser window).
            Did I help you? Buy me a beer
            Get my Book: MODX:The Official Guide
            MODX info for everyone: http://bobsguides.com/modx.html
            My MODX Extras
            Bob's Guides is now hosted at A2 MODX Hosting
            • 11 Posts