We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 4 Posts
    hello,
    i'm new to modx.
    I want to change the read permission of attachments --> public read access.
    How is it possible to change the permission set of anonymous group?

This question has been answered by [email protected]. See the first response.

• 1,154 Posts
      Hmm good question. Have you looked in system settings?

Let me poke around and see what i can find. Are you a developer, i.e. with the ability to dig at least a little deeply into the files?

This issue shouldn't be all that hard, to be honest. Its all about finding the right file, for the most part.

I will get back to you this weekend.
        • 1,154 Posts
        Ok I am looking at this, don't know how much time I need to figure it out, but i wanted to tell you where this is happening.

First, I have to ask you to tell me what the condition is for Discuss now for you in your install, I have edited my install so many times that I often forget that I modified something.

Is the situation that, when not logged in, the user can't see the download link? That's what I seem to remember was the default, and that's what I have currently.

(And I just discovered that, when logged into the manager back-end, I can see the attachments even though not logged into the forum, interesting)

Anyway, the first place to check is system settings for discuss, but unfortunately there is no value for this. Make sure you have guests allowed, you probably already do, its the default I believe.

Next step will be the manifest, which is set up to allow for easy changes to the system. But, nothing here it seems {irritated}