We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 86 Posts
    I've installed classextender-2.0.0-pl to MODX Revolution (2.3.3), in order to add some custom fields to the User profile records.

I added some new custom fields to these Chunks:

MyExtUserSchema
    MyExtraUserFields
    lgnProfileUpdateForm
    lgnProfileViewForm

Now, the new custom fields appear in the User record (mgr context), AND in the Profile view and Update forms (web context).

Also, I can update the custom fields in the Profile update form (web context), and the changes appear in the User record (mgr context).

However, the changes I make to the custom fields in the User record (mgr context) are saved and reflected ONLY in the User record (mgr context). The changes made in Manager don't appear in the Profile view and Update forms (web context).

I'm new to MODX, and need some guidance troubleshooting this. Any ideas what might be wrong, or where to look?

Thanks in advance.

This question has been answered by kjforsyth. See the first response.

• 24,544 Posts
      It sounds like a cache issue. If you clear the site cache in the Manager after updating the fields, do they appear correctly in the web Context? If not, try manually deleting the files in the core/cache directory after saving the user (just for diagnostic purposes).

In theory, the user cache is refreshed when you save a user, but that may happen before the extra fields are saved.
        Did I help you? Buy me a beer
        Get my Book: MODX:The Official Guide
        MODX info for everyone: http://bobsguides.com/modx.html
        My MODX Extras
        Bob's Guides is now hosted at A2 MODX Hosting
        • 86 Posts
        Quote from: BobRay at Apr 14, 2015, 07:53 PM