We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 7 Posts
    Hi!

I've tried to change background image by replacing image file on FTP. However if I open my site or even exact url of the image I see the old one. If I open the image from FTP - I see the new. So when I try to watch the new image in any browser I see the old one even it is not discoverable on FTP anymore. The same story if I upload the image from File Manager.

I'm new to MODX and maybe I don't understand something with caching. I've tried to clear cache in Manager - didn't help. Any suggestions?

Thanks,
    Simon

This question has been answered by multiple community members. See the first response.

• 1,154 Posts
      It could be your browser cache. If the name of the file and the folder are precisely the same then it would have overwritten the file, if you are still seeing it, then it must be in browser cache.
        • 7 Posts
        Quote from: nuan88 at Mar 02, 2015, 01:07 PM
        It could be your browser cache. If the name of the file and the folder are precisely the same then it would have overwritten the file, if you are still seeing it, then it must be in browser cache.

I've tried to clear browser cache or open site in browser where I haven't open it yet. So I'm sure that it is not browser problem.
          • 1,154 Posts
          and the precisely same url is getting different images in ftp and regular? Hmm I have seen some lag when making changes in designs before, but clearing cache should solve them.

Again, if the one image file has overwritten the other, then the overwritten one can only come from a cache somewhere, because the picture file doesn't even exist anymore.

Could it be a cache from your hoster? Does ftp have a cache? I just don't see how this is possible.
          • Can you post a URL to the page in question?
              Studying MODX in the desert - http://sottwell.com