We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 23 Posts
    I'm a relative newbie, but love MODx. My page is a list of items, that will vary in length. It may have 3 items, it may have 20. Each item will have a photo and aadition info. A Product list in essence. Here is the basic Chun that includes all variables for one line item:

<section class="itemRow">			
    <div class="container">
    	<div class="row ">
    		<div class="col-md-4">
    			<a class="img-thumbnail lightbox"	href="[[*01-used-link]]" data-plugin-options='{"type":"image"}'>
    				[[*01-used-image-th]]
    					<span class="zoom">
    					<i class="icon icon-16 icon-white-shadowed icon-search"></i>
    					</span>
    			</a>
    		</div>

<div class="col-md-8">
    			<h2 class="tinos short">[[*01-used-itemname]]</h2>
    			<h5>[[*01-used-price]]</h4>
    			<ul>
    				<li>Name: [[*01-used-contact-name]]</li>
    				<li>Company: [[*01-used-contact-company]]</li>
    				<li>Location: [[*01-used-contact-location]]</li>
    				<li>Phone: [[*01-used-contact-phone]]</li>
    				<li>email: [[*01-used-contact-email]]</li>
    			</ul>
    		</div>
    		</div>
    	</div>
    </section>

What is the best way to handle this?
      • 5,888 Posts
      There are many ways.

The way, which does work out of the box, is to use sub-resources for each item and list them with getResources (or, what I prefer, pdoResources)

If this items doesn't need to be searchable on other places in your site and if this are not to much items you could thing about using a MIGX-TV to store all items as one json-string into one TV and use the included getImageList - snippet to list them.

If you want to have them in its own custom-table, you could create a Custom-Manager-Page (for example with help of MIGXdb) or a MIGXdb - TV to manage them.
      Then you can use for example migxLoopCollection for listing them.