We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 143 Posts
    I've just started to use ModX, please forgive what might be a complete noob question, but I have tried to research this...

I'm surprised that so many of the /manager operations are not ajaxified. Save a resource or perform another action and the whole screen refreshes. Is there a setting to ajaxify this environment or is that just the way it works? I know this CMS has roots going back quite a long time, but that page-at-a-time posting mechanism is a bit "last decade". wink

Thanks!
      Loved ModX when I was using it a few years ago. Shifted to WordPress, sorry. Thanks, all.
    • Most actions are definitely ajaxified, but there are a couple things that currently need a refresh. Creating a resource refreshes to the resource/update panel, and changing a template on a resource needs a refresh to load the proper TVs and form customization.

What kind of things are you doing that needs a refresh?

There's a community built AjaxManager plugin that loads in most panels through ajax too, but as it relies on a core hack and other extras need to be updated to work with it too, so I can't really recommend it.
        Mark Hamstra • Developer spending his days working on Premium Extras and a MODX Site Dashboard with the ability to remotely upgrade MODX and extras to make the MODX world a little better.

Tweet me @mark_hamstra, check my infrequent blog at markhamstra.com, my slightly more frequent ramblings at MODX.today or see code at Github.
        • 149 Posts
        I would like to add that AjaxManager now works with Ace and CKeditor editors without any hacks, and there is no errors using third-party components having Custom Manager Pages (but they are not ajaxified). All you need is to `hack` your core. I think about including core patch into AjaxManager package.
          • 143 Posts
          Thanks for responses so far.