We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 10 Posts
    Hi all, I’m just starting out with modx and templates. There is a lot to learn, but I love the power (quite honestly it’s gone to my head wink...

I humbly submit my first try converting a CSS Zen Garden CSS (Contemporary Nouveau) to use with modx:
    http://www.lofland.org/modx/MODx-0.9.1/

Obviously I am not done, the text of the images is all wrong and I’ve yet to really personallize it. I also am having a problem on some of the "shorter" content pages - the right side extends past the end of the page - when it should define it if the page is shorter than the right hand content.

When I’ve completed the work I’ll happily upload it here - for now I’m looking for some feedback.

advTHANKSance!!
    Eric
      • 1,193 Posts
      Looks like the sidebar column on the right is either absolutely positioned (taking it out of the flow of the rest of the page), or it is floated right without the div below it set to clear:both; in the CSS.

As you can see, the sidebar travels to the bottom of the page without bringing the rest of the template with this. To fix this, avoid using absolute positioning for dynamically generated lists if possible, or after your floated div, remember to clear:both; on the next div!

-sD-
        Husband, Father, Brother, Son, Programmer, Atheist, Nurse, Friend, Lover, Fighter.
        All of the above... in no specific order.

I send pointless little messages
        • 171 Posts
        Thanks for your contribution,
        However, did you ask the author to adapt his design?
        CSS zen garden aren’t free design and you are not allowed to copy them.

You may not use any of the graphics (image files: GIF, JPG, and PNG) on the Zen Garden elsewhere without the original designer’s written permission. There are no exceptions to this. The Garden is about learning from other people’s work, but not using it uncompensated.