We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 8 Posts
    Hi Guys

Im an experienced developer but pretty new to the MODX CMS and i wonder if somebody could give me some pointers on an issue i have with the search snippet..

I’ve set the up search snippet and in general all is working fine apart from that as i see it, it only searches the main content area and wont search template variables. Is this correct?

I want to use template variables for different areas of content, but i do need these to be searchable too? Am i being an idiot and overlooking something obvious.

MODX seems to be the best CMS ive used to date, hand down and im very excited by it but am having a few teething problems(as expected). If anyone can help it would be much appreciated!!
      • 2,542 Posts
      Hi,

the latest version of ajaxSearch search through TVs.

If you want to add this feature in FlexSearchForm have a look at doSearch Function in ajaxsearch.inc.php

:-)
        Made with MODx : [url=http://www.copadel.com]copadel, fruits et l
        • 8 Posts
        Thanks mate for that info, ill take a look into that!!

...can i take it then that the problem i have is just a restriction of the standard FlexSearchForm? Im surprised there is no one else asking for help on the same problem.
        • AjaxSearch also degrades for browser that don’t support Javascript, too.
            Ryan Thrash, MODX Co-Founder
            Follow me on Twitter at @rthrash or catch my occasional unofficial thoughts at thrash.me
            • 8 Posts
            Ive tried out the ajax search now, and although i haven’t styled it in any way, i do have it working.
            This also doesn’t seem to search TV’s though?

Anyone have any ideas? Ideally i dont really need the ajax search. The concept of the FlexSearchForm would be fine for what i want to do but i just need something that will search TV’s properly...

does anyone have any ideas?