We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 9 Posts
    Hi

I’m new to modx Revolution, and I’m currently trying to figure out how to make a multi-lingual site.

I’ve found how to insert localized strings in chunks using lexicons, this part works fine. But now I’d like to go further and provide a way to switch the whole site to another language. As far as I’ve understood, I need to use a different context per language; each context will have its own translated resource tree. But then how do I provide a link to switch between the contexts I created? How to find the URL of the page corresponding to the current one in the new language? The documentation doesn’t seem to explain this part yet.

Thanks for your help.
    • Quote from: LaurentGom at Aug 09, 2009, 08:04 PM

But then how do I provide a link to switch between the contexts I created? How to find the URL of the page corresponding to the current one in the new language? The documentation doesn’t seem to explain this part yet.
      This will be up to developers to determine, based on their needs. For instance, are you going to provide subdomains for each language, or is it going to just be subfolders used to organize the tree? These kinds of questions need to be answered in order to determine how you are going to "switch" contexts, or even if you need contexts (using subfolders wouldn’t require having separate contexts, though you may want to isolate the content and settings this way anyway). You could use a plugin to detect the subdomain from the http_host setting, or a particular subfolder in the requested URL, and switch to a particular context based on that information. Or you could create physical subfolders with custom index.php files in each one to prevent loading the main ’web’ context on each request and then switching (i.e. directly initialize a particular context).
        • 9 Posts