-
☆ A M B ☆
- 24,524 Posts
Is this one of the default system settings, or a custom setting?
Default system setting that I want to override for a particular group or user.
For example, I wanted to set log_level to 4, just for admin users or at least for a particular user.
I've tested via a the tag [[++log_level]] logged in admin or via getOption.
And when I try to delete the log_level entry at the user level, it deletes the system setting completely.
-
☆ A M B ☆
- 24,524 Posts
I tried it with a custom setting, and it did nothing for the Admin user, group or user, it always displays the System Setting, at least on the front-end.
For a web user, the user setting did override the System Setting, but I can't remove it from the user. When I tried removing it from the user settings, it removed it from the System Settings, but it's still in the user settings. When I try to remove it from the user settings again, I get a "nfs" error (or "nsf" or something like that).
Once the original user is deleted, then subsequent users created without the setting will get the Group Setting value.
The second attempt, everything seemed to work, System Setting if not logged in, group setting or user setting when logged in. Deleting the setting from the second user also removed it from System Settings as well, but not from the Group Setting.
Hm. Subsequent logins for the second user, even though the setting was removed from his profile, still displays his setting, not the group setting. It's definitely messed up.
Ah. Going back and looking at the user's Settings tab, the setting is still there, and won't let me remove it (setting_err_nfs). It did go away at the first attempt to delete it, it just came back.
[ed. note: sottwell last edited this post 12 years ago.]
The System Setting being deleted when you delete the User Setting would definitely be a bug, though you'd have to verify in the DB that the System Setting is really gone.
I would not expect a log_level setting to have much effect, though. Much of the code that I've seen that uses the log() method sets the log level explicitly, which would override the System Setting.
What is stranger is that the custom settings are still in DB in the table cms_system_settings, even if they were deleted in the backend and disappeared.
I haven't tried another customisation, but I suppose it is the same.
-
☆ A M B ☆
- 24,524 Posts
Bugs are reported in the MODX github repository now.
https://github.com/modxcms/revolution
The deleting bug should be fixed in 2.3.2.