We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 88 Posts
    hello all,
    a MODX Revolution 2.4.2-pl noob here needing help please.

i'm not a PHP'er either, i'm a front-end sorta guy.

so here's the situation...
    our organization wants to use the MUUT.com forum, which is easily embeddable via Javascript & JQuery. the catch is, we need to use our own user database & user registration/authentication/login rather than using the built-in MUUT's.

the cool thing is, they (MUUT) allow for this via what they call "Federated ID" PHP code.
    the problem is, i can't figure out how to configure Muut's PHP code with ModX's requirements. it's probably easy for someone who knows PHP really well; unfortunately, i don't & i'm the only one to do this.

note: the basic embed works great. according to Muut, tho, if i use the below PHP code, the forum will bypass using Muut's user db & will use our own instead.

here is the Muut PHP code...
    <?php
    	$user = array(
    		'user' => array(
    			"id" => "johndoe",
    			"displayname" => "John Doe",
    			"email" => "[email protected]",
    			"avatar" => "//gravatar.com/avatar/e5fb96fe7ec4ac3d4fa675422f8d1fb9",
    			"is_admin" => true,
    			),
    		);
    	$message = base64_encode(json_encode($user));
    	$timestamp = time();
    	$signature = sha1('MY_SECRET_MUUT_KEY_GOES_HERE' . ' ' . $message . ' ' . $timestamp);
    ?>

the Muut support suggest i try something like this (which dosn't work)...
    <?php
    	$muutuser = array(
    		'user' => array(
    			"id" => $modx->username,
    			"displayname" => $modx->fullname,
    			"email" => $modx->email,
    			"avatar" => $modx->photo,
    			"is_admin" => false,
    			),
    		);
    	$message = base64_encode(json_encode($muutuser));
    	$timestamp = time();
    	$signature = sha1('MY_SECRET_MUUT_KEY_GOES_HERE' . ' ' . $message . ' ' . $timestamp);
    ?>