We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 3 Posts
    Hy everybody,

I am new to modx (coming from Drupal). I am trying to see if modx could be use on one of my projects. And there is one thing I cannot acheive. I search on the forum, tutorial, bob's guide and book. But I am not getting it rigth.
    Here is my simple use case.

I want to set up 3 different users groups. And in each of those user groups I want one "super user" to have rigths to creat/update/delete users in the group he belongs to. And he should not see and have rigth over the users that belong to the other user groups...

Sounds simple like that... I found information on how to restric access to ressource, element, media, and context (where there are rights for action on users but apparently applying to all users).

Sorry if my question has already been answered somewhere else.

Thanks
    Antonin
    PS : i use Revo 2.3.5
    [ed. note: antpre last edited this post 8 years, 8 months ago.]
      • 24,544 Posts
      I'm afraid there's no way to do it in MODX. Either users have full access to create and edit all users, or they don't.
        Did I help you? Buy me a beer
        Get my Book: MODX:The Official Guide
        MODX info for everyone: http://bobsguides.com/modx.html
        My MODX Extras
        Bob's Guides is now hosted at A2 MODX Hosting
        • 5,888 Posts
        you can try a plugin like that:

<?php
        if ($modx->context->get('key') == "mgr") {

switch ($modx->event->name) {

case 'OnMODXInit':

$action = $modx->getOption('action', $_REQUEST, '');
                    if ($action == 'security/user/getList') {

$group = $modx->user->getPrimaryGroup();

$_POST['usergroup'] = $group->get('id');

}
                    break;

}

}
        return;

-------------------------------

you can buy me a beer, if you like MIGX

http://webcmsolutions.de/migx.html

Thanks!
          • 3 Posts