We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 66 Posts
    Hi there,

I've been working on a website using discuss as one of the pillars. Now that I have the basics in place, I would like to implement the extra's and now I run into a few problems. My problem is that I have no background in IT or web development, everything I have done is self taught and with loads of help from the MODx community.

I actually have 2 questions for now (see gc.haulehuisje.nl for visual support):

1. is it possible to get the most popular threads into the sidebar?
    2. is it possible to mark threads as featured (and remove it when I want), and show into the sidebar?

Hope any of you is able to help?

Thanks!
    Coen

This question has been answered by gormytorysh. See the first response.

• 1,154 Posts
      There are two solutions in the forums, one is forums.modx.com/thread/81757/recent-posts and the other is http://forums.modx.com/thread/85888/can-i-display-latest-forum-posts-on-pages-outside-of-discuss.

Looks like you already have it on your front page now, did you use one of these two?
        • 66 Posts
        I have the most recent posts on my home page. Now I would like to add a feature thread option and a most popular thread option. I am just taking my first steps into php, which is hard enough as it is for me wink, though I want to learn by trying it. So pointers into a direction is very helpful and much appreciated.

I'll look at the code used for recent posts and try to adjust it just to be able to use it for most popular threads.
          • 1,154 Posts
          You are ahead of me by a bit, I am avoiding php so far haha. What did you use for recent posts?

If this one works, it would seem easy enough to change to hot or popular posts, by changing the "orderby" array:
          <?php