We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
  • So I started getting more involved with MODX and PHP and created a snippet for one of my clients so she can post her facebook galleries on her MODX site by simply copying and pasting the link Facebook provides her when she clicks on the get link option.

I'd like to get the templating working correctly right now I just copied and pasted some code I found on Bobs blog and got it working via trial and error.

Now I'm no PHP expert which is why I would like to get it done the correct way so I can improve it and learn while doing so.

<?php
    //I suppose this tells the snippet to look for the tpl to use
    $itemChunk = $modx->getChunk($tpl);

//this extracts the album number from the link provided by facebook which is passed as a template variable in the snippets &album parameter
    $parts = explode('.', $album);

//creates the url for the JSON data using the album number we extracted with explode
    $facebook_album = file_get_contents("http://graph.facebook.com/".$parts[3]."/photos?fields=source,name&limit=".$limit);

//decodes the JSON data            
    $dataArr = json_decode($facebook_album, true);

//Not sure what this is doing so would like clarification on this, from what I understand the tpl parameter of the snippet gets the tpl and applies it to the scriptProperties array not sure what ResoruceItem does
    $tpl = $modx->getOption('tpl',$scriptProperties,'ResourceItem');

//for loop which sets a placeholder for the fields we will use from the provided JSON data
    foreach ($dataArr['data'] as $d) {

//sets an imageURL placeholder with the value of source in the JSON data
        $modx->setPlaceholder('imageURL', $d['source']);

//sets a name placeholder with the value of the name in the JSON data
        $modx->setPlaceholder('name', $d['name']);

//tells modx to apply the chunk to the output
        $output = $modx->getChunk($tpl);